Wi-Fi Direct™ Setting Menu

To allow an application to use the Wi-Fi Direct™ service, you must activate the Wi-Fi Direct™ feature.

In the Wi-Fi Direct™ setting menu, you can activate Wi-Fi Direct™, and select whether your device can be discovered by the other Wi-Fi Direct™ devices (use the My phone's visibility setting). The default value of My phone's visibility is Off, and it means that the other Wi-Fi Direct™ devices cannot find your device. If your visibility is off, or you have selected a temporary visibility which has expired, a timeout notification is displayed on the other device after they have spent 2 minutes searching for you.

Note
The supported technologies are optional and device-dependent.

To change the settings for Wi-Fi Direct™ while running the application, click the Home key, and select Settings > Wi-Fi > Wi-Fi Direct.

Figure: Wi-Fi Direct™ and My phone's visibility settings

Wi-Fi Direct™ and My phone's visibility settings

Note
If you do not select Always On as My phone's visibility (or select a temporary visibility and let it expire), even though the Wi-Fi Direct™ service is activated and a ticker shows that the Wi-Fi Direct™ is on, the other Wi-Fi Direct™ devices cannot find your device after your device leaves the Wi-Fi Direct™ setting menu.

Where to Go Next